A Raging Battle

I can hardly believe it’s been over a year since God led me to the amazing ministry that is Proverbs 31. He has brought me to a community of sisters that are struggling and pressing on to the same goal, drawing closer to the God we all love so much.
A little over 2 years ago, I quit smoking, and I know it was with God’s help. I had been down the road to quitting smoking before and just never really had the desire fully leave. I visualized in my mind quitting, and prayed to God to take the desire away for a year before I actually quit. God is faithful and it was surprisingly “easy” to quit and not have the desire to go back.
Then, I went on a journey to overcome FEAR! That was when God lead me to Proverbs 31 Ministries and the Online Bible Studies with Melissa Taylor. They were doing Micca Campbell’s “An Untroubled Heart”. That book was so eye opening and helped me gain perspective on how God doesn’t want us to live in fear. He has purpose and plans for us, and wants us to rest in the knowledge, that even when life gets hard-He’s there!
Through the many other wonderful studies we have done, God has helped me press into Him and His leading. He has helped me find ways to overcome being “Unglued”, opened my eyes to “Greater” things and plans He has. He has shown me I can be a woman that says “YES TO GOD” and given me a “Confident Heart”.
It is because of the knowledge He has been placing in my heart, and the wonderful community of AMAZING Sisters in Christ, that I know I can overcome the battle with food! I would not be considered obese, and many would say “You are fine”, but I know my battle lies more in letting food be a reward. I need to gain perspective on what goes in my mouth, and be aware and choose things that benefit my body, not just sugar and goodies(though God knows I love those things) I need to get back to moving and being active. So, I am hopeful and excited to walk this journey with the 40,000 people that have also decided that they want to #CraveGod.
I am not worried as much about a number on the scale. I want to feel healthier. I want to feel like God is coming first, not food or the hundreds of other things that are available to distract us from Him. I want to feel #empowered not defeated. I want more and more of God, and I hope you are finding that you do too!

6 thoughts on “A Raging Battle

  1. Wow! I really enjoyed your post today! I can relate big time. I’ve had two babies, but for the majority of my life I’ve been “small”. Like you, I am not worried about the number on the scale, I am more interested in putting food in its proper place and place my focus on God. πŸ™‚ Thank you for your wonderful post!

  2. Hi I am Sara Dillman and I am a small group leader for group #43. I loved your post! The way you tied all of the titles of the books together was very clever πŸ™‚ I also like how when you were quitting smoking you would visualize it. I am going to try to apply that to this study. I am so thankful that you are a part of P31 and just remember that you are never alone πŸ™‚

  3. Thank you so much for sharing with us! I love my OBS and what makes studying God’s word better? Having a group of Jesus loving gals to do it with and depend on for support! Oh and I almost posted this same song today, love it!! #CraveGod Cindy, OBS Small Group Leader

Leave a comment