Good Friday

love hurtsOur church service was a lovely reflection of the timeline Jesus went through from the Last Supper to his death. I am always struck by the love and sacrifice Jesus made. It shows how precious Father, Son & Holy Spirit think we, their creation, are to them. Father sends His only Son, part of the Trinity. The Son takes off His deity and becomes like us. He lives a life committed to the Will of the Father to let us know we can do it too. The Holy Spirit available to us because of Jesus sacrifice and our need of a Teacher & Helper!
WOW! I don’t know about some people, but that gives me a picture of love unbridled. We sin, we fall short, we mess up, we are broken and needy. In the midst of this God pours out love, sacrifice, redemption, salvation, eternal life.
John 3:16 is so well known, and rightly so, but I love what comes in the next verse.
16 “For God so loved the world, that He gave His [a]only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have eternal life. 17 For God did not send the Son into the world to judge the world, but that the world might be saved through Him. John 3:16-17 (NASB) We know He sent Jesus because He loved us so much. But I think the even better news was in verse 17, NOT to judge the world, but to SAVE the world! Thank you Jesus, that you loved me enough to keep me from eternal judgement and a life apart from You!
I had an interesting conversation with an employee. He said he didn’t want to go to church for Easter. That got me thinking, what if Jesus, while praying in Gethsamene, said “Never mind, they’re not worth it” Where would we be? I know there have been many times I didn’t go to church because I was tired, busy, didn’t want to, whatever pitiful excuse I may have had. We are so blessed that we have a Savior who didn’t make excuses, but made the sacrifice.
I am in a very different place in my walk with God. I want to be in church every opportunity I can get now. One of the girls at work while the conversation was going on said “Oh Anna loves Jesus” And it’s so true, I can’t get enough of Him! I still get lazy, or complacent, but my desire is growing, along with my faith and happiness.
I pray this Easter, God reveals how much of a priority He made you, and perhaps you will make Him a priority this Sunday, and beyond. God bless and HOSANNA TO GOD IN THE HIGHEST!

Leave a Reply

